Print Page   |   Sign In
City Year Educator Resources
Share |






Educator Resources

WEBSITES



Teaching Channel: www.teachingchannel.org

ASCD Professional Development: www.ascd.org

Teacher Tube: www.teachertube.com

Teachnet: www.teachnet.com

A to Z Teacher Stuff: www.atozteacherstuff.com

Education World: www.educationworld.com

Teacher Planet: www.teacherplanet.com

Discovery Education: www.discoveryeducation.com

Visual.ly: Top 20 sites Every Elementary Teacher Should Know

 

A to Z RESOURCES


Assessment


Bilingual Education and ESL Support

Class Culture and Climate

Class Engagement

Class Management

Common Core

Differentiating Instruction

Interventions

New Teachers

Planning

Professional & Personal Development

Social Emotional Learning

Technology Use

 

TED TALKS


TED-Ed Videos : The TED-Ed project — TED's education initiative — makes short video lessons worth sharing, aimed at educators and students. Within TED-Ed’s growing library of lessons, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which are collaborations between educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed platform.

 Angela Lee Duckworth: The key to success? Grit

Christopher Emdin: Teach teachers how to create magic 

Freeman Hrabowski: 4 pillars of college success in science

Geoffrey Canada: Our failing schools. Enough is enough!

Malcolm London: “High School Training Ground”

Ramsey Musallam: 3 rules to spark learning

Rita F. Pierson: Every kid needs a champion

PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS & ASSOCIATIONS




Pi Lamba Theta: www.pilambda.org



 The Educator Resources page is the result of work done by 2014-2015 City Year Jacksonville corps member Samantha "Sami" Cummins, currently serving on the Wells Fargo Team at Edward H. White High School. She is originally from Columbus, Ohio and is a graduate of The Ohio State University where she received a degree in social work with a minor in theater.  During her service, Sami serves in an English and Reading class, and leads the school's Poetry Club. After her year of service Sami is planning on attending graduate school, concentrating on education, social issues, and research. 

Developing her passion for research, Sami surveyed current and former AmeriCorps members in an effort to support those interested or currently in teaching. From those survey results, she was able to compile this list of resources for future and current educators.  Sami is always willing to lend her research expertise to the betterment of the City Year mission. City Year and Jacksonville feels lucky to have a leader like her!


City Year's Alumni & Career Services Department is grateful to Sami for taking initiative on this project and looks forward to adding further resources to this incredible page.  If you would like to contribute content to City Year's Career Center, email cyalumni@cityyear.org.



Legal